• Hockey India
  • Sports Authority of India

The Chandigarh Hockey Association ( Hockey Chandigarh ) came into being at the same time as Rock Rovers Hockey Club in 1959. It was headed by Capt. R.S. Mehta, followed by Sh. R.K. Gupta, Sh. J.S Sandhu and for the last 28 years by Dr. Chander Shekhar IPS, DGP (Pb), now ( Retd.). It is worth mentioning  that Late Sh S.N. Vohra continued serving as Secretary of CHA & Rock Rovers till his demise in May 2000. A brief summary of Rock Rovers Hockey Club is very appropriate behind the grand continued contribution and success of Hockey Chandigarh towards hockey in India.     

After the demise of Sh. S.N. Vohra, on the request of all the members and Hockey lovers Sh. Y.P Vohra founder Secy. of COA for 25 years took over as Secy. of Chandigarh Hockey Association. The CHA have been serving the cause of Hockey and its promotion. In June ( 7-12 ) 1995 under IHF is organized indo-Pan – American friendship Gold Cup Hockey tournament From 5th Jan to 1st Feb 2006.  The Sr. Vice President of CHA ( H.C) – then Prof. Dr. S.K.  Gupta  had been in the organization of indo American Friendship Gold Cup tournament.  Prof. S.K. Gupta was also part of Indian delegation to Pakistan in the India – Pak test series in Feb 2006. CHA also organized 2nd edition of Premier Hockey League in Chandigarh. To promote Hockey at the grass root level, S.N.Vohra’s under 14 Sub Junior Hockey tournament had been organized by CHA from 2001 - 2017. The Rock Rovers Hockey Club Chandigarh an affiliated unit of CHA (Hockey Chandigarh) since 1971 have been organizing an All India Gurmit Memorial Hockey Tournament (A- Grade) and in 2019 was its 48th edition in a row.

The Rock rovers Hockey Club & Chandigarh Hockey Association was actually established in 1959  by Sports & Hockey lovers of the then City beautiful. Late Prof. Dr. B.L. Gupta who was the founder director of Sports, Punjab University & former Secretary IHF along with Late Sh S.N. Vohra of Irrigation department of Punjab took over as founder President and Secretary of the Rock Rover Hockey Club Chandigarh respectively. The band of selfless workers and top Olympians Late S.Balbir Singh (Sr. ), Sh. Dharam Singh and Sports lovers like Sh Y.P. Vohra, Sh. A.S Kohli, Sh. R.S Sodhi, Sh. B.M Singh, Sh. Bal krishan, M.L Chopra, Sh. Mohinder Singh ably supported the CHA & Club. Late Sh. Chander  Khanna was  then treasurer of both CHA & Club. 

The CHA got affiliated with Chandigarh Sports Association now COA in 1964. Capt. R.S.Mehta and Sh S.N.Vohra became its founder President & Secretary respectively. The Chandigarh Hockey Association (CHA) got registered with the Registrar Society, U.T vide no F.I.R.T.A. 76/94/14323, 30-08-1976 and a few years after got direct affiliation with IHF vide no IHF-AS-49/81/1981.  

Since 2009, Chandigarh Hockey Association has become Hockey Chandigarh vide Registration No. 4048/2009. Sh. Y.P. Vohra relinquished the Charge of Secretary General Hockey Chandigarh in 2015 & since 2015 Sh. Anil Vohra, joint Secy. Hockey Chandigarh took the charge as Secretary General Hockey Chandigarh and have been performing his duties and sending the Chandigarh Hockey teams of all Categories ( Sub Junior, Junior & Senior Men and Women ) in various Nationals Hockey Championships organized by Hockey India. 

Hockey Chandigarh has produced number of Olympians and Internationals Hockey Players – Baljit Singh, Deepak Thakur, Rajpal Singh, Inderjit Singh etc etc and in Junior categories Sanjay, Amandeep, Maninder, Arshdeep Singh and Sukhman Singh.